First blog post…Start of the Dream

This is my first blog post, so it is probably time to tell you how all of this began…

There are 26 days until I graduate. In the six month lead up to graduation, I applied to 72 jobs. Of these 72, I heard back from 23. I got 22 rejections and had one ask for more information, which I provided and then never heard back from them. All of that was extremely stressful and anxiety inducing. Every day I thought about the future with only dread. I didn’t know where I wanted to be, what I wanted to be doing, or if anything would even come together. Everything made me feel frustrated and unsure and, most of all, miserable. College had burnt me out and the idea of getting a job doing something that didn’t excite me made me feel exhausted. I was following the path that society was laying out for me: get a degree, find a job using it, settle down, and don’t question it.

It took one amazing friend, a pint of vegan ice cream, a box of ice cream sandwiches, and a bottle and a half of wine to figure out one thing: I didn’t want the life society chose for me. I wanted to be excited about the future and what I would be doing. So, we chatted and I realized that I knew what it was that made me excited. The thing that makes me excited, more excited that I had been in months, was the idea of TRAVELING!

Traveling isn’t a new concept to me, growing up we traveled a lot (a perk of being in Europe, where everything is so close, and my amazing parents with wanderlust of their own). I have always loved it, with the exception of one moment of foolishness that my mom will never let me forget, so going back to the idea of traveling felt extremely familiar and that is how the idea of going on an adventure was hatched.

I have always wanted to go to New Zealand and have heard nothing bad about it but that isn’t how I chose it. To be honest, it wasn’t really even a conscious decision. ‘Move to New Zealand and go on adventures’ was how this whole process started and I latched on because it was exciting and new. Luckily for me, New Zealand has a really easy way for me to go on adventures there. As a US  citizen, I am eligible for the Working Holiday Visa that New Zealand offers. The details of this visa are simple, you can visit New Zealand for up to a year and work temporary jobs, travel, and even attend school, as long as it is less than six months. All in all, this sounded perfect for what I wanted to do. So I did it.

I bought a one-way ticket to New Zealand, leaving myself the option to leave anytime before my year long visa expired, and started dreaming about what would happen next. That is when the wanderlust kicked in and the planning began.

 

4 thoughts on “First blog post…Start of the Dream

  1. It will be exciting to read your blog and live vicariously through you! Please take lots of pictures and share them with all of us saps who cannot follow our dreams of traveling. Good for you for seizing this year to see what’s out there. We love you Jacquie! (Will you take your ukulele with you?)

  2. Awesome! Many of my friends did the New Zealand work program after graduation and they had a ton of fun! Nick did the work visa program in the UK back when that existed. And I chose to live in Switzerland! I had many of the same thoughts as you … not being ready to settle into a career quite yet. It was one of the best decisions I ever made! It was one of the hardest years of my life (I moved there all alone without knowing the language) and full of ups and downs but I don’t regret it for a minute and it taught me so much. ENJOY! Learn a lot about yourself and the world.

Leave a Reply

