How will I live/eat/work on my Adventure?

If you aren’t aware of my exciting new plan to move to New Zealand for awhile, check out my first blog post here. Otherwise, read on and learn about how I plan to house and feed myself while traveling.

 

One of the first things to consider when going on an adventure is how to ensure your basic needs are met.

If I had an endless well of money then there are loads of ways to travel, whether AirBnB or hotels, you will find a place to lay your head at night. Unfortunately, as a poor soon-to-no-longer-be college student this wasn’t a feasible option. This is where advice from cousins, friends and even a few strangers became essential.

There is an organization called World Wide Opportunities on Organic Farms, or Willing Workers on Organic Farms, mostly just known as WWOOF. WWOOF is a network that facilitates the placement of volunteers on organic farms, in countries all over the world. How the program works is:

  1. Farms/families/organizations post that they need people to come work on their farm/small business/home. This can be tasks involving anything from planting to distilling alcohol to building sheds and almost anything else you can think of.
  2. People like me register on the site and look through the posted opportunities. Once finding one you like, you sign up and off you go.
  3. Upon arriving at the host location, you are housed and fed in exchange for your work.
  4. Rinse and Repeat. Try new things and go new place.

After looking into the WWOOF program, woofing seemed like an awesome fit for me so I signed up and started looking around.

If this plan falls through, there are also loads of temporary work jobs doing everything from IT to secretarial jobs to working as an au pair, so I don’t think basic needs will be too much of a struggle. But if these things don’t work out, I will figure it out and have mishaps and learn new things about myself and the world.

I’m going into this adventure feeling extremely excited but also with my eyes open. I know that it isn’t all going to be picture perfect sunsets, laughter, beautiful scenery, and excitement. There are going to be low moments where I am lonely, lost, very broke, and probably at some point physically ill or injured but everything will be a learning experience. This trip will help me grow as a person as I gain new perspectives on life from all kinds of varied experiences.

While I have housing and food mostly planned out, there will inevitably be other expenses so any and all money is appreciated. I will be finding odds and ends jobs to make money but if you want to donate and help me on my travels, you can contribute via Venmo or PayPal. All help is appreciated!

Leave a Reply

